< Page >

Lab & Fab



Monday 13th November 2017
New materials for RF, GaN power conversion, and silicon photonics to feature at San Francisco conference in December
Saturday 11th November 2017
University of Twente researcher proposes using 'avalanche mode' silicon LEDs to efficiently bring light on-chip
Friday 10th November 2017
How to cut down energy loss in power electronics? The right kind of doping, according to researchers at Aalto University
Thursday 9th November 2017
Simple production steps could lower cost of producing sensors and other optoelectronic devices, say French researchers
Wednesday 8th November 2017
New hybrid architecture could prove essential for high-performance quantum photonic circuits
Tuesday 7th November 2017
Chromosol gets funding to commercialise erbium-based technology to build lasers on silicon photonic devices
Friday 3rd November 2017
Technology based on CsPbI3 delivers 13.4 percent efficiency
Tuesday 24th October 2017
Ultrathin films of MoTe2 that emit and detect light can be stacked on top of silicon wafers
Monday 23rd October 2017
By adding extra charge carriers, Los Alamos team block absorption and create transparency without external stimulation
Tuesday 10th October 2017
UC Riverside research invokes quantum mechanical processes that occur when two atomically thin materials are stacked together
Wednesday 4th October 2017
Heterointegrated components for subterahertz communications and power amplifiers for 5G will be featured in Munich, November 14-17
Tuesday 3rd October 2017
University awarded over £440k for its part in Visible Light Communications based Interoperability and Networking (VisIoN) project
Monday 2nd October 2017
Devices lost less than 5 percent performance in accelerated ageing tests
Friday 22nd September 2017
KAUST and Georgia Tech team show how boron-containing nitrides tune the band structures of nitride-based heterojunction with large conduction band offset
Tuesday 19th September 2017
Four year project aims to spur research, development and commercial adoption of new class of semiconductors that could lead to new uses for flexible displays.
Tuesday 19th September 2017
Results are major step towards direct III-V/Si epitaxy for integrating light sources on silicon
Monday 18th September 2017
LED-based communication system achieves line-of-sight data rates up to 71 Mbit/s using 8-QAM-OFDM technique
Thursday 7th September 2017
Ultra green 2D perovskite LED could pave the way for visibly improved colour quality in a new generation of displays
Thursday 7th September 2017
Researchers report a new type of 'physically transient electronics' that can dissolve through exposure to water molecules in the atmosphere
Wednesday 6th September 2017
Texas Tech researchers Hongxing Jiang, Jingyu Lin can see a time when micro-LED technology will turn walls, windows, and windshields into displays
Tuesday 5th September 2017
Leti and partners reconstruct fingerprints at 1,000 dots per inch using ZnO nanowires for pressure sensing
Friday 1st September 2017
Stanford team's compound solar cell consists of a honeycomb of perovskite microcells, each encapsulated in a hexagon-shaped scaffold 500 microns wide
Thursday 31st August 2017
Indium selenide-based van der Waals Schottky diode converts heat into electricity three times more efficiently than silicon
Wednesday 30th August 2017
NREL scientists suggest that application of UV illumination could improve the optical properties of semiconductor layers