< Page >

Lab & Fab



Friday 18th September 2020
Japanese team discovers new alkali copper halide that could provide a more efficient, easily processable, durable, eco-friendly source of blue light
Thursday 17th September 2020
Semiconductor/superconductor/ferromagnetic insulator hybrid can hold delicate quantum information and protect it from decoherence
Tuesday 15th September 2020
KAUST team show that silicon bandgap gets smaller as the device gets hotter while the perovskite bandgap gets larger
Monday 14th September 2020
Latest findings have implications for all semiconductors where alloying is the standard approach to band gap tuning, say researchers
Monday 7th September 2020
Penn State researchers made novel light sensor based on the 2D compound semiconductor material MoS2
Thursday 3rd September 2020
Suppression of triplet excitons shown to be key for preventing 'lasing death' that has been limiting long operation
Thursday 3rd September 2020
Using TaS2, Rice researchers find effect that could aid 3D displays, virtual reality, and self-driving vehicles
Wednesday 2nd September 2020
University of Texas at Dallas researchers make novel LED using remote epitaxy
Wednesday 26th August 2020
Canadian team creates first blue perovskite LED with an external quantum efficiency higher than 10 percent
Friday 21st August 2020
Graphene and 2D hexagonal boron nitride 'sandwich' works as ultra sensitive Hall effect device
Thursday 20th August 2020
Micro transfer-printing technique shows promise for laser power beaming as a way of transferring energy over fibre or free space
Monday 17th August 2020
NJIT team UV emitters can be directly used in several practical applications, including UV curing, phototherapy, water/air/surface purification and disinfection.
Friday 14th August 2020
New design overcomes long-standing LED efficiency problem - and can transform into a laser
Friday 14th August 2020
Research could contribute to building highly integrated optoelectronics on silicon substrates
Thursday 13th August 2020
Experiment sets the foundation for future near-Earth application as well as potential deep space missions
Wednesday 12th August 2020
Efficiency of 25.9 percent for a III-V/Si tandem solar cell grown directly on silicon marks important milestone
Monday 10th August 2020
Breakthrough laser operates in pulsed conditions up to 100 kelvins
Monday 3rd August 2020
Korean team replace CdS buffer layer with zinc- based materials to achieve 18 percent conversion efficiency
Friday 31st July 2020
Deep UV-LEDs are faster in their communications than traditional LEDs and can be detected without solar interference
Thursday 30th July 2020
Fabrication method results in flexible single-crystal films with controlled area, thickness, and composition
Thursday 30th July 2020
Scientists from Imperial College London and the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati have reported an alternative route for improving light extraction from LEDs
Tuesday 28th July 2020
Experts call for global effort to clear hurdles to mass production
Thursday 23rd July 2020
Researchers describe unique system for testing how well narrow wavebands of UV light kill germs
Wednesday 22nd July 2020
Scientists demonstrate room-temperature low-threshold lasing from a cavity mode hosted within the topological bandgap of the structure