< Page >

Lab & Fab



Tuesday 22nd September 2015
New business model could makes it easier for novel integrated circuits to reach market
Friday 18th September 2015
Japanese group show how femtosecond-laser ablation could close the 'terahertz gap'
Friday 11th September 2015
A*STAR researchers take step towards building fully integrated optoelectronic systems
Thursday 3rd September 2015
Berkeley Lab and University of Illinois use CdSe/CdS quantum dots and mirrors to absorb more high-energy light 
Thursday 3rd September 2015
Friday 28th August 2015
NIMS and Tamura to establish methods for mass production by end of year
Thursday 27th August 2015
Scientists reported a tunable band gap in BP, effectively modifying the semiconducting material into a unique state of matter with anisotropic dispersion. This research outcome potentially allows for great flexibility in the design and optimization of electronic and optoelectronic devices like solar panels and telecommunication lasers.
Tuesday 25th August 2015
Los Alamos researchers develop luminescent solar concentrator using CISeS-based quantum dots
Friday 21st August 2015
Taiwanese researchers use readily available components to make bendy GaN LEDs
Thursday 20th August 2015
Oregon team develops microwave heated, continuous flow approach to making CuInSe2 QDs
Thursday 20th August 2015
US scientists develop rare-earth-free LED phosphors
Monday 17th August 2015
Nano-optical probe shows energetically disordered edge region
Monday 10th August 2015
Compact laser could sense chemicals for a variety of applications
Wednesday 29th July 2015
Multi-segment semiconductor laser can emit over the full visible colour spectrum
Tuesday 28th July 2015
US researchers use the infrared region of the sun's spectrum to make solar cells more efficient
Monday 27th July 2015
Quantum dot sandwich produces photon stream that can be switched at 90GHz
Friday 24th July 2015
Keck Foundation grant will fund development of semiconductor 'ratchet' to upconvert photons
Wednesday 22nd July 2015
ORNL researchers make scalable arrays of semiconductor heterojunctions for ultrathin electronics 
Monday 20th July 2015
Eindhoven researchers increase hydrogen yield by a factor of ten
Friday 17th July 2015
US team finds 'hot spots’ of enhanced electrical fields emerge at specific frequencies
Thursday 16th July 2015
Rice University scientists find 3D BN will excel at thermal management for electronics
Thursday 16th July 2015
Polish and Chinese researchers develop innovative photocatalytic material 
Thursday 16th July 2015
Narrower, longer emission results from growth on m-plane substrates with a second miscut
Wednesday 15th July 2015
University of Toronto researchers combine materials to create new light-emitting crystal