< Page >

Lab & Fab



Wednesday 4th May 2016
Results hold promise for designing better buffers that intentionally control polarity
Thursday 28th April 2016
NREL confirms 7.6 percent efficiency in a 1cm2 area CZTS cell
Tuesday 26th April 2016
International research team demonstrates new approach to making thermally stable solar cells
Thursday 21st April 2016
Eliminates need for external light source for mid-infrared silicon photonic devices or photonic circuits
Monday 18th April 2016
ORNL scientists grow high-quality layers of GaSe and MoSe2
Friday 8th April 2016
NIST researchers build GaAs-based piezo-optomechanical circuit
Friday 8th April 2016
US team develops first transistors made entirely of nanocrystal 'inks'
Thursday 7th April 2016
Stanford team shows how pressure could help tailor solar cell wavelength absorption properties
Monday 4th April 2016
New cells could improve conversion efficiency to over 50 per cent, say researchers
Thursday 31st March 2016
German scientists raise efficiency to 22 percent
Monday 21st March 2016
Direct wafer bonding technique combines III-V/silicon laser with Mach Zehnder modulator to achieve 25Gbps on single channel
Friday 18th March 2016
International team film nanowire self-assembly through electron microscope
Tuesday 1st March 2016
Theoretical compound semiconductor is made from silicon, boron and nitrogen
Tuesday 1st March 2016
Open-circuit voltage breaks the 1V barrier for the first time
Friday 19th February 2016
Imec and VUB present alternative to fixed frequency surface-acoustic wave filters for LTE Bands from 0.7-1GHz
Wednesday 17th February 2016
SnO shows promise for faster, less power hungry electronics
Monday 15th February 2016
US scientists demonstrate n-doping through surface transfer from sodium
Thursday 11th February 2016
GaAs nanowire lasers produce infrared light under pulsed excitation
Thursday 4th February 2016
Technique can create up a 100- to 200-square-inch film of Q-BN or c-BN in one second
Wednesday 3rd February 2016
Integration of III-V materials with silicon shows promise for mainstream electronics
Tuesday 2nd February 2016
Analysis of electron spin lifetime is step towards new generation of low power devices
Friday 22nd January 2016
US researchers look to nanoscale semiconductors to combat future superbugs
Thursday 21st January 2016
Manchester team shows potential for using carrier doping to tune programmable QCL lasers
Friday 15th January 2016
Bell Labs team shows how GaAs and GaInP outperform silicon and dye-sensitized solar cells in low light