Info
Info
search:

< Page of 13987 >

Lab & Fab


Wednesday 5th June 2013
SETi is planning to commercialise its aluminium gallium nitride LEDs for use in refrigerators to delay the spreading of mould
Friday 31st May 2013
A novel new lens could lead to improved photolithography, nanoscale manipulation and manufacturing and high-resolution 3D imaging
Thursday 30th May 2013
Sometimes not. In samples which have been annealed at a high temperature, Hall measurements may indicate the wrong carrier type. In this case, other characterisation techniques, such as CV and photocurrent-based measurements, are more reliable
Tuesday 28th May 2013
Scientists are using X-ray diffraction to further understand crystals that could improve warm-white LED performance
Friday 24th May 2013
Scientists have used electron microscopy imaging techniques on indium gallium nitride (InGaN) LEDs to settle the controversy of indium clustering and raise new experimental possibilities
Friday 17th May 2013
Mimicking nature can improve thin-film III-V solar cells and other optoelectronic devices
Sunday 12th May 2013
A novel 3 dimensional geometry based on gallium arsenide enables trapping more light than planar structures, such as silicon solar devices, and with less material
Tuesday 30th April 2013
Aluminium gallium nitride technology and can withstand continuous exposure to UV light without damage
Thursday 25th April 2013
To make lasers and LEDs both n-type and p-type materials are used. Researchers have claimed that shedding excess energy at the p-n junction is what produces light in both these types of devices
Wednesday 24th April 2013
Auger recombination could be responsible for the LED droop phenomenon
Monday 22nd April 2013
New research indicates that siliicon carbide could prevent surges in the power grid
Monday 15th April 2013
Implanting LEDs into the brain can stimulate peripheral nerves for pain management. LED devices in multiple colours may also be able to activate and control several neural circuits at once
Monday 15th April 2013
A gallium nitride based single-photon emitter can secure communication
Tuesday 26th March 2013
Cylindrical III-V nanowire structures are predicted to have great potential in the development of solar cells, quantum computers and other electronic products
Monday 25th March 2013
MIT researchers have improved the efficiency of a quantum-dot photovoltaic system by adding a forest of nanowires
Monday 11th March 2013
An indium phosphide nanowire solar cell can produce an effect per active surface unit several times greater than today’s silicon cells
Thursday 7th March 2013
Optimising colloidal quantum dot growth leads to significant improvements in capturing a broader range of the solar spectrum more effectively
Wednesday 27th February 2013
A novel spin technique has allowed scientists to move closer to creating what they say is the first viable high-speed quantum computer
Monday 25th February 2013
A new technology is expected to contribute to the optimisation of the doping process of silicon carbide. The SC-XAFS techniques could also be applied to the analysis of other wide-gap semiconductors such as GaN (gallium nitride)
Monday 18th February 2013
Quantum dots can self-assemble at the apex of a GaAs/AlGaAs (gallium arsenide/aluminium gallium arsenide) core/shell nanowire interface. This breakthrough could bolster quantum photonics and solar cell efficiency
Friday 15th February 2013
A new quantum dot device composed of gallium arsenide and light-emitting crystal, marks a new age in the study and influence of living cells. The probe could be used for real-time sensing of specific proteins within cells and be adapted to sense biomolecules such as DNA or RNA
Monday 11th February 2013
Altering the creation of CdSe-CdS QDs could enable everything from more efficient computer displays to enhanced biomedical testing
Wednesday 6th February 2013
A new development could significantly improve the performance of solar cells, LEDs and photodetectors
Tuesday 5th February 2013
LEDs, solar cells and sensors could benefit from a new technology to study the interface between the core and shell of quantum dots composed of CdTe based materials